Stereotyped

April 20, 2011 misstakenidentity33


Stereotyped

By Missy Smith, excerpt from Blueberry State of Mind

You are not that pure as the driven white snow virgin society has labeled you

No, I am not that seductive whore many perceive us black women as being

 Yes, I am undervalued and underappreciated

Made to feel inferior while you were taught to be superior

“Pure Goddesses” they call you

“Black Tramps” is what they yell at us

See my ancestors paid our dues long time ago, only now it seems many have forgotten

Therefore, you attach more wages upon us to pay

The epitome of a society bearing no morals

From back in the day to now here in this day discrimination still running deep

And yes, I still refuse to be anyone’s wooly haired sheep

Know that I walk with a stride that can’t be denied

No matter how hard you try I refuse to backslide I ride the front

Sit where I want

Talk what I feel all while displaying beautifully confident appeal 

See Mama made educating us her main priority

Articulate strong “Black Nubian Queen” on this scene

Refusing to be caught up in racial divisions

Radical decisions hell-bent on weakening instead of strengthening

Power to the people, yeah I got that memo

See my strength lies within many factors that make up my genetic symmetry

Ain’t I a woman said Sojourner Truth?

After all this sexist bull, I had better be!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

 
