What is it about support?

April 13, 2011 misstakenidentity33


What is it about people supporting other people? More clearly what is it about people supporting those who do not have a famous name attached to them? Because one does not come from that luxurious background does that mean when we try to accomplish something for ourselves it should be that much harder? I know a lot of celebrities who simply say support me in this and boom it’s done. But when the average (though I am far from that) person ask for the same support then its I don’t know you. How can you get to know me if you do not take the time. The same road that celebrity took is the same one we as entrepreneurs take. It make take us a little longer but we are all on the same road trying to acquire the same thing. I follow twitter, Facebook and a few other sites and I am amazed at the amount of celebrity support their. While I do not knock the support, how about showing some to those who are trying to come up and do good things in this world.

I for instance wrote a book Blueberry State of Mind, a collection of reflective truths available now on Xlibris.com, Amazon.com and Barnesandnoble.com (shameless plug but who cares, this is my blog site lol) and everyday I mention this book. Making sure to go into great detail what this book is about. I am not one to just simply say ok, I have a product now go buy it. No I want you to know what this product is about and how it will benefit you. I am a Reflectionist/Poet who loves to simply express myself through writing. I am a survivor of abuse both mentally and physically from family and relationship wise which the book touches on but I did not solely dedicate the book to abuse. I am a determined and fearless woman who has decided to get everyone involved in the healing through writing phase I am now getting organized. So see my status of celebrity is not to the forefront as of yet, but my status of a motivated, creative, courageous woman is.

There is no wonder that a lot of people feel defeated even before they begin their process of becoming successful. To me success is not measured in how much money you can attain, but how much encouragement you can offer someone. How much your actions can help someone achieve greatness within their internal structure. I had big hopes for reaching out to celebrities and people in my same creative zone and say hello I am Missy Smith, A newly published author and I would love for you to pick up a copy of my book “Blueberry State of Mind” but it seems if I do not have that famous name attached to me then no one wishes to listen. But those same celebrities being reached out too are the same ones who wish for me to support them. How ironic to say the lease. I am not worthy enough in your eyes to support me but I am worthy enough in your eyes for me to support you?

So I ask the question, what is it about others of the non celebrity fame supporting others. We all have a story to tell, an interesting idea to be shown and yes everyone wishes to be shown the same supportive respect as the next man. Ok I get it that not everything is for everyone and I know that first hand but I also know that one must give support in order to gain support. I think of over the years all the rappers, R&B singers and designers I have supported without a second thought and I wonder now could I get the very ones I supported to support me. Answer, I truthfully do not know. So many of us are only interested in getting and not giving back. So in closing I will say this. Let’s support each other in uplifting and becoming successful in our endeavors. Lets not be greedy and selfish ignoring the aspirations of others who are trying to come up the same way you have. I encourage you all to take a moment and say ok let me show my support of the next man, woman who is trying to do the right thing.

Creative Luv Missy

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

One Comment Add your own


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

 
