Happy National Poetry Month

April 6, 2011 misstakenidentity33


Hello all, so yes it’s that time again. Poetry Month. I love poetry. It is the one thing for certain that I can depend on (other than GOD). The only thing that gets me is people only wish to celebrate this occasion once a year. For me poetry is 365 days a year, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. There is no stopping a poet when he or she is creatively blessed. Now why do I love poetry? Well before I even had a name to associate with my way of thinking and writing, I just loved the fact that I could write out my emotions in a way unlike any other.

I began writing at the age of 6. The cause of my writing stemmed from my being abused by 2 uncles. I found that writing took my mind off the abuse. I did not simply write about abuse, I wrote about love and beauty in the beginning. The two things I wanted so desperately to feel. I remember in the 4th grade, my english teacher Mr. Wilkins saw first hand my way of expressing and in turn gifted me my first journal. It was white and pink with all these stickers on it which I aptly named Blueberry State of Mind. I can still to this day remember him saying, young lady  you have a very interesting imagination. I want you to keep those imaginations written down in this journal for one day everyone will be able to see your talents. As a child I didn’t understand. But as an adult now, I fully do.

The more I wrote, the more in control of me I felt. Writing was the one thing I could do that was truthful. Now later on in life, I know the very things I have written is indeed poetry. I at times tend to call myself a Reflectionist with a poets soul. It is the best description to describe me. So yes, I write poetry. Life poetry. Yes, I love poetry. All forms. And so I thank those before me who have paved the way for us creative souls and have given our creativeness a name. POETRY!

Missy Smith Author of the newly published book Blueberry State of Mind, a collection of reflective truths is available for purchase at Xlibris.com, Amazon.com and Barnesandnoble.com. I encourage all to pick up their copy today. Thanks and creative blessings.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

 
